Chaired by Paul Polman (CEO, Unilever), FOLU's International Ambassador Network is made up of leaders with diverse experience, all committed to the urgent transformation of food and land use systems.

FOLU ambassadors will champion the Coalition’s agenda by:

  • Engaging with decision-makers at local, country and global level, e.g., through participation in events, authoring op-eds and conducting one-on-one meetings with key decision-makers,

  • Driving change in at least one country where the Coalition is working, e.g., offering advice, participating in events and facilitating meetings with influential actors, collaborating in on-the-ground projects where appropriate

  • Leading by example by integrating the FOLU values, vision and approach into the work they do

The network is a diverse group, drawn from sectors including Environment, Health and Agriculture and with experience in government, business, civil society, finance and science. Confirmed participants are outlined in below.

“The FOLU ambassador group is a dynamic network of leaders, acting as influential champions for transformation”

David Nabarro


Inger Andersen, Director General, International Union for Conservation of Nature

Sharan Burrow, General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation

Helen Clark, Former Administrator, United Nations Development Programme

Wiebe Draijer, Chairman of the Board, Rabobank

Shenggen Fan, Director General, International Food Policy Research Institute

Jessica Fanzo, Professor of Food Policy & Ethics, Johns Hopkins University; Co-chair, Global Nutrition Report

Marion Guillou, President of the Board of Directors, Agreenium

Lawrence Haddad, Executive Director, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition

André Hoffmann, Board Director, MAVA Foundation

Naoko Ishii, Chief Executive Officer and Chairperson, Global Environment Facility

Ajay Vir Jakhar, Chairman, Bharat Krishak Samaj

Agnes Kalibata, President, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa

Sam Kass, Trove Worldwide, Founding Partner

Marco Lambertini, Director General, WWF International

David W. MacLennan, Chairman and CEO, Cargill Limited 

Strive Masiyiwa, Board Chair, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa; Panel Member, Africa Progress Panel

Sara Menker, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Gro Intelligence

Divine Ntiokam, Founder and Managing-Director, Climate Smart Agriculture Youth Network 

Ndidi Nwuneli, Founder and Director, Leadership Effectiveness, Accountability and Professionalism (LEAP) Africa

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Former Minister of Finance, Nigeria 

Cristiana Paşca Palmer, Executive Secretary, Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity

Paul Polman, Chief Executive Officer, Unilever, Chair, Food and Land Use Coalition

Vineet Rai, Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Aavishkaar; Co-founder & Chairman, Intellecap Group

Jaidev Shroff, Global Chief Executive Officer, UPL

Feike Sijbesma, Chief Executive Officer, Royal DSM

Erik Solheim, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme

Ishmael Sunga, Executive Director, Southern African Confederation of Agricultural Unions

Izabella Teixeira, Co-chair, International Resource Panel

Laura Tuck, Vice President for Sustainable Development, World Bank

Ann Tutwiler, Director General, Bioversity International

Gerda Verburg, Coordinator, Scaling Up Nutrition Movement

Sunny Verghese, Co-Founder and Group Chief Executive Officer, Olam International

Kathy Willis, Professor of Biodiversity, Oxford University